Translation

A few days later, there was exciting news in the village: Partridge had been put in prison. And the police had dug up his garden, and taken up part of the floor in his house . . . But they hadn’t found a body. Then the news came that he had been freed.

It seemed that his strange story to Sergeant Wallace was true. There had been no one else living in the house. He had won a large amount of money. And Partridge’s mother was living in Liverpool, and had been in trouble with the police on several occasions.

Partridge came back to his house and continued preparing for his move to Canada.

Two days before he was going to leave, in the early evening, someone rang his doorbell. It was December, dark and cold. All the villagers were inside their houses.

He did not recognize the woman standing on the doorstep. She was dressed in the clothes of a young woman, but her face was old.

‘Hello, Humphrey,’ she said.

‘Who are you?’ He held the door, ready to close it.

The woman laughed. ’No, I don’t expect you to recognize me.

You were very young when we last met.’ ‘You’re not…?’

‘Yes, I am. Don’t you want to give your mother a kiss?’

She pushed her painted face towards him, and Partridge stepped back into the hall, The woman followed him in.

She looked at the packing cases. ‘Of course, you’re going away, Canada, is it? I read about it in the paper. I read about the money, too.’

‘What do you want?’ said Partridge,

‘I’ve just come to see my little boy. I was thinking, perhaps you should help your poor old mother now

‘You never did anything fop me. You left me.’

‘That was a long time ago. Now I want you to look after me in my old age. Why don’t you take your old mother to Canada with you?’

‘But you aren’t my mother.’ He spoke quietly.

‘Oh yes, I am, Humphrey.’

‘My mother is beautiful and kind, She is nothing like you. You

are not my mother!’ His hands were on her shoulders, shaking her,

‘I’m your mother, Humphrey!’ She was laughing at him.

His hands moved to her neck to stop her words. They became tighter and tighter as he shook her.

He opened his hands, and the woman’s body fell to the floor. Her mouth opened and her false teeth dropped out.

Next morning Humphrey Partridge went to the police station to

see Sergeant Wallace.

‘Good morning, Mr Partridge. What can I do for you?’ ‘Sergeant, about my mother . . . I just wanted to tell you . . .

that I did kill her.’

. ‘Oh yes, and then you buried her in the garden?’ ‘Yes, I did.’

‘Fine.’

‘I’m telling you I murdered someone,’ Partridge said.

‘Listen, Mr Partridge,’ said the sergeant. ‘I’m very sorry about what happened, and you can have a little joke if you like. But now I have other things to do, so . . .’

‘You mean I can just go?’ ‘Do. Please.’

To Canada?’

‘Anywhere you like.’

‘All right, then, I’ll go.’ He left the police station.

Outside, Humphrey Partridge took a deep breath of air, and smiled.

‘Right, Mother. We’re going to Canada,’ he said.

Մի քանի օր անց գյուղում հետաքրքիր լուր հայտնվեց. Պարթրիջը բանտարկվեց: Ոստիկանները փորել էին նրա այգին և գրավել նրա տան հատակի մի մասը…Բայց նրանք դիակ չէին գտել: Հետո լուր եկավ, որ նա ազատ է արձակվել: Թվում էր, թե սերժանտ Ուոլասի համար նրա տարօրինակ պատմությունը ճշմարիտ էր: Տանը ուրիշ ոչ ոք չէր բնակվում: Նա մեծ գումար էր շահել: Իսկ Փարթրիջի մայրը ապրում էր Լիվերպուլում և մի քանի անգամ ոստիկանության հետ խնդիրներ էր ունեցել: Պարթրիջը վերադարձավ իր տուն և շարունակեց նախապատրաստվել Կանադա տեղափոխվելու համար:

Մեկնելուց երկու օր առաջ `վաղ երեկոյան, ինչ-որ մեկը զանգեց նրա դռան զանգը: Դեկտեմբեր էր, մութ ու ցուրտ: Բոլոր գյուղացիներն իրենց տներում էին:

Նա չճանաչեց շեմին կանգնած կնոջը: Նա հագած էր մի երիտասարդ կնոջ հագուստ, բայց դեմքը ծեր էր:

-Բարև, Համֆրի, – ասաց նա:

-Ո՞վ ես դու:

Նա պահեց դուռը ՝ պատրաստ այն փակելու:

Կինը ծիծաղեց:

– Ոչ, չեմ ակնկալում, որ դուք կճանաչեք ինձ:Դու շատ երիտասարդ էիր, երբ մենք հանդիպեցինք վերջին անգամ:

-Դու չե՞ս …: Այո ես եմ.

-Չե՞ս ցանկանում մայրիկիդ համբուրել :

Նա ներկված դեմքը մղեց դեպի իրեն, և Փեթրիջը ետ մտավ միջանցք, և կինը մտավ նրա հետ: Նա նայեց փաթեթավորման գործերին:

-Իհարկե, դու գնալու ես, Կանադա, չէ՞: Ես այդ մասին կարդացի թերթում: Ես նույնպես կարդացի փողի մասին :

-Ի՞նչ ես ուզում, – ասաց Փարթրիջը,

-Ես նոր եմ եկել տեսնելու իմ փոքրիկ տղային: Մտածում էի ՝ երևի հիմա պետք է օգնեք ձեր խեղճ ծեր մորը

-Երբեք ինձ ոչինչ չես արել: Դու թողեցիր ինձ :

-Դա շատ վաղուց էր: Հիմա ուզում եմ, որ դու իմ ծերության տարիներին նայես ինձ: Ինչո՞ւ քո ծեր մորը քո հետ չես տանում Կանադա:

-Բայց դու իմ մայրը չես: Նա խոսեց հանգիստ:

-Այո, ես եմ, Համֆրի:

-Մայրս գեղեցիկ է և բարի, նա քեզ նման չէ: Դուք իմ մայրը չեք:

Նրա ձեռքերը նրա ուսերին էին, ցնցում էին նրան:

-Ես քո մայրն եմ, Համֆրի: Նա ծիծաղում էր տղայի վրա:

Նրա ձեռքերը շարժվեցին դեպի նրա պարանոցը ՝ դադարեցնելու նրա խոսքերը: Նրանք ավելի ու ավելի խստացան, երբ նա ցնցեց նրան:

Նա բացեց ձեռքերը, իսկ կնոջ մարմինը ընկավ հատակին: Նրա բերանը բացվեց, և կեղծ ատամները դուրս եկան:

Հաջորդ առավոտ Համֆրի Փարթրիջը ոստիկանության բաժանմունք գնաց դեպի

տես սերժանտ Ուոլաս:

-Բարի լույս Փաթրիջ, ի՞նչով կարող եմ օգնել:

⁃ Սերժանտ, իմ մայրիկի մասին: Ես ուզում էի ասեյ , որ ես սպանել եմ նրան:

⁃ Այո, իհարկե եւ հետո տաղել եք նրան ձեր այգում:

⁃ Այո, արդպես էլ արել են:

⁃ Լսեք Փաթրիջ: Ասաց սերժանտը – Ցավակցում եմ պատակացի համար, եւ դուք կարող եք կատակել ինչքան ուզում եք , բայց ես ունեմ այլ գործեր:

⁃ Այսինքն ես կարո՞ղ եմ գնալ:

⁃ Այո

⁃ Անգամ Կա՞նադա:

⁃ Ուր ուզում եք:

⁃ Լավ, այդ դեպքում ես գնում եմ: Նա հեռացավ ոստիկանության բաժանմունքից:

Դրսում Համֆրի Փարթրիջը խորը օդ շնչեց և ժպտաց:

⁃ ‘ մայրիկ: Մենք գնում ենք Կանադա , – ասաց նա:

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started